Beauty | MAC Techniques Class

DSCN1544

Céline with finished makeup look

A while ago, one of my friends Céline invited me to a MAC Techniques class. Of course, I was immediately intrigued. She was quite the connaisseur already when it came to MAC products, but I had only ever admired them from afar. I decided to take the chance and sign up for my first ever makeup class.

The class cost € 50, which you could redeem for makeup at the end of the lesson. The theme of the class was Signature Look. The whole idea was to find the colours that best suited you.

DSCN1510

After we had got ourselves installed in the makeup room, one person was chosen as demonstration. While applying the makeup on the left side of the volunteer’s face, the Makeup Artist (MUA) walked us through the steps and techniques she used while we all wrote it down on a little notepad we’d received.

DSCN1511Once she’d finished the demonstration, we could get started. We each received a little glass plate, on which she gave us dollops of the products we would then use.

The MUA picked a day creme for everyone individually, after asking about what skin type each of us had.

After we’d treated our skin, we had to use a primer, so the makeup would adhere better to our skin. The primer also contained algae which works soothing. This serves to counteract any redness.

DSCN1517Which leads to the next product: concealer! We each got a bit of concealer to hide the problem areas on our skin.

DSCN1531

Then the MUA matched us with foundation. This is when they taught us you always have to match your foundation to your jawline. Though I feel my match wasn’t perfect. The foundation they had me use (NW 15), felt slightly too dark and yellow for my skin colour. Maybe all this apprehension is due to the fact that I never wear foundation. I’m very fair with a pink undertone, so it’s very hard to match my skin. I don’t tan (I lobster), so darker foundation would never get used, even during summertime. I also always worry that foundation will look too cake-y on me.

DSCN15161Once we’d applied our foundation, we moved on to bronzer (which I also never use!) Which I put in the hollows of my cheeks, starting at my ears.

Next up was blush. They gave me Margin Frost to use, which was nice, but not really a colour I’d automatically go for as it’s brown-ish of colour and has a frosty finish. I think they were desperately trying to make me appear slightly tanned. :D Poor them, that’s almost mission impossible.

Then it was time for highlighter. Not something I usually reach for, but it was very nice. And I like that we had to use finger application for this product. As nice as the brushes are (and they’re really nice), I mostly apply my makeup with my fingers, so this was familiar territory for me.

DSCN1519 DSCN1530 After we’d “put our face on”, the MUA looked at our eyes and deliberated on which eyelook to go for. She decided to give me brown eyeshadows to complement my blue eyes.

But first, we used a paint pot as our eye base. I used the Constructivist paint pot over my entire upper eyelid. I put Dazzlelight on the inner part of my upper eyelid and Bronze in my crease. Then I lined my upper and lower lashline with Teddy eyeliner. I finished the look off with some mascara. Et voilà, the eyelook was done!

As final touch, I put Viva Glam V on my lips. It’s such a great lipstick. I fell (a little) in love with it… ♥

 

This was the finished look:

DSCN1539MAC_Techniques_Eyes


And that signalled the end of the class. We went down to the shop to redeem our € 50. I ended up buying some products I’d used in the class. 

My purchases:

MAC_Techniques_Products_01

Teddy eyeliner – Constructivist paint pot – Dazzlelight eyeshadow

MAC_Techniques_Products_02

Teddy eyeliner – Constructivist paint pot – Dazzlelight eyeshadow

Some individual product shots:

MAC_Techniques_Constructivist_01

Constructivist paint pot

MAC_Techniques_Constructivist_02

Constructivist paint pot – turned over

MAC_Techniques_Constructivist_03

Constructivist paint pot – open

MAC_Techniques_Dazzlelight_01

Dazzlelight eyeshadow

MAC_Techniques_Dazzlelight_02

Dazzlelight eyeshadow – open

MAC_Techniques_Teddy

Teddy eyeliner

The booklet we got to take home:

MAC_Techniques_Booklet

As I said before, this class was the very first time I took a makeup class. It was a morning full of new experiences. I got some great tips and tricks from the MAC Makeup Artists and I was able to try a brand (and some products) I’d never used before.

Overall, it was a nice event, though I can’t see myself put on a full face of makeup every day…

Lupi

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beauty | MAC Techniques Class

Leave a Reply

